The lion and his den.

             I stood on the Eighteenth floor bridge today and watched a cloak of mist drift in from Connecticut and overtake Long Island Sound. It was subtle, like the tide taking away my footprint one grain of sand at a time. The silhouette of earth bowed down to the gloomy clouds as they filled the heavens with awe and majesty. A rumble of thunder was followed by a flash of electricity somewhere in the near distance. Seagulls soared above the neon green trees dotting the landscape making their way to and fro to who knows where. I assumed they were trying to find protection from the incoming phenomenon. The bridge did precious little to appease my desire for security. I could feel the damp and dreary chill in the air miles away.

              Sometimes I feel honored to be able to go to work and have a view like this. Whenever I find myself stressed out I glance out the window and remind myself to breath because what we go through is not as important as how we go through it. On a sunny day you can see the island zigzagging east to west for miles and if you look really close you can see waves breaking along the rocky shoreline. During the summer months boats cruise along the water splitting blue ocean into white froth behind them. Many would say the view is breathtaking at sunrise; others will speak of romantic sunsets.

              Unfortunately there is another side to this token, another edge to this sword. On my side of the glass patients lay broken and in need of a few good strangers to care enough to show them some love, to take care of them, to remind them kindness is alive and well and not some relic of decades past. It’s not an easy thing to awake each morning knowing you are going into battle, knowing you are going into the proverbial lion’s den. Thankfully there are other nut jobs out there who have volunteered to jump in with me. These chosen few are called nurses.

              I work in the company of the best of the best. It is an honor and a privilege to stand beside them. To call them friends. Not many go to work knowing what we know and manage to get out alive or at the very least sane. To all of the nurses reading this I want to say thank you. Always keep the flame of kindness kindled in your heart and when it starts to dim I implore you to take a moment and watch the sky because storms will eventually retreat and the sun will shine again.

Leave a Reply

