The apex of our lives.

Cast Away. One of my favorite movies of all time. Actually, I am listening to the main theme as we speak. Music helps kick-start my creative side and makes the whole writing experience somewhat surreal and if you listen along while reading my work you will understand where I am coming from. I like to paint pictures for my readers. Pictures made not from brush or pencil but from words and feelings and music…I enjoy setting the stage so everyone can experience what exactly is going on inside of this numskull of mine.

Every movie has an apex. Whether it lasts sixty seconds or gone in the blink of an eye, every movie has a moment when people can reach out towImageards the screen and say yes, this is why the movie was made, this is what I am going through today. When I watch Tom Hanks float along the vastness of the sea on his broken boat I understand this man and his anguish. I can’t say I was ever stranded at sea, but I still feel for him. I understand the desperation on his face and the anguish in his heart, the tears on his cheek. I know the sadness he felt when he realized there was nothing left for him to do but lie down and weep and hope that maybe someone somewhere would throw a life jacket in the water and pull his wasted frame from the coldness of death. This was his apex. This was him being human. When he landed on the cursed island, he had a decision to make. Survive the unknown and make it back to Helen Hunt or succumb to the melancholy and slip away from earth through means of suicide. He chose to survive and take on whatever came next. Please don’t misunderstand I realize the movie was fiction and Hanks really doesn’t work for Fed-Ex and drive around with a volleyball named Wilson, but I believe the movie had a great message. He took what was placed in front of him and made the best out of a real crummy situation. In the film this was the path he was supposed to take.

I was sad today. Sometimes I picture myself on a broken raft in the middle of nowhere with no wind to take my sails and no water to quench my thirst. Most of the time I walk this earth in a confused state of mind waiting for someone to show me the way. I know many people wouldn’t dream of admitting it but who cares? I believe the majority of people do the same exact thing. We search for clues, we wait for signs, we pray for guidance. A friend of mine asked me today if I had any real concrete plans for my upcoming Great American road trip. Other than routing it out on my map and working overtime to pay for it all, I really don’t. Some people will call it foolishness; I am calling it the fulfillment of a destiny thirty years in the making. I am at peace with the unknown. As nerve-wracking as it is, nothing will stop me from taking this leap of faith. Life is not made for the timid. I like to think Tom Hanks’ character felt this way on the island. He didn’t know the outcome, he had no idea what to do next but he did it anyway and became world-famous. People will say I am running from something. I say nay and nay again! For I run towards the apex of my life and all the goodness to follow.

2 responses to “The apex of our lives.

Leave a Reply

